Breathless

Image

They have changed us. They have
taken time away. They have made
me sad, time and time again. They
have made me hateful.

A walk down the aisle. A trip to
my new home. A grandfather for
my children. A walk around the
block. A phone call with good news.

Your candles on your next birthday
cake. Your game of catch in the
backyard with your grandson. Your
favorite foods. Your well-deserved
retirement.

They have caused worry about each
new breath. They have changed us.

 

Jennifer A. Fifield

Image: In Life Photography

One thought on “Breathless

  1. Reblogged this on the writing life and commented:

    Today is the one-year anniversary of The Writing Life. I thought I would commemorate by re-posting my very first blog, and thanking my followers.

    My first Word Press post was the poem “Breathless”. Much of my writing over the past year has dealt with my dad’s passing and I want to thank everyone for supporting me through your likes and comments. I have needed this blog – it has helped me heal.

    The Word Press Community has brought me a great deal of joy. I am in awe of the talent you possess. I want to thank my followers and let you know that your feedback truly brings a smile to my face. Best wishes on your path of creativity!

Leave a Reply

