So many years

eb94C09cactus flowerSo many years
my youth, my tears

They say,

Do not be sad
about tangible things
but he sat, I say
back there, on a swing

Overgrown and deserted
it is how we feel
neglected and desolate
reminds me it’s real

Someone else to own
will they understand
he was taken there
too young a man

I grew up on that street
can’t you see
the house will haunt you
the history, the memory

I dreamt it was mine
a sold sign out front
to live and remember
was all I did want

They say,

The memories are inside
it is only a building
but I cannot help the thoughts
and the tears that they bring

 

Jennifer A. Fifield

Image: Bing Free Clip Art

Leave a Reply

