Reminisce, For Nick

photo-1427501482951-3da9b725be23I have never
truly “liked” Facebook,
I have always hoped
that the whole thing
would go under,
one day
but it has not

Tonight,
one of my old coworkers
wanted me to “like”
her new company,
so I “liked” it

Then,
I saw that it was an old
boyfriend’s birthday,
I clicked on his page to
wish him well,
but the posts were strange

-they seemed, past tense-

I read on,
to find,
that he had passed away
in January

He moved north
after high school, so
we were not in touch
as much, nor
had he talked to any
of my “friends”
recently

News like this
-online-
is troubling,
this is how
announcements
are made now:
pregnancies,
sicknesses,
marriages,
divorces,
cancer,
death

It is peculiar to think,
that when people pass,
some may
receive a phone call,
while others gaze
at a Facebook photo
and reminisce

-reminisce-

about how
they snuck out
of the house
on Sunday nights
-late-
to go to parties
and guzzle Keystone

or park the car
in the dusty desert,
beneath a bright moon,
and everlasting stars
-late-
and make me wonder
why I felt like that

-why I was trembling-

when I read
the news
about you,
Nick

 

By Jennifer A. Fifield

Image: Unsplash

Leave a Reply

