31/108: spring to summer

Young lady reading the book in the hammock on tropical beach at sunsetA few lovely quotes for the first day of summer:

I know I am but summer to your heart, and not the full four seasons of the year. ― Edna St. Vincent Millay

Summer afternoon—summer afternoon; to me those have always been the two most beautiful words in the English language. ― Henry James

And so with the sunshine and the great bursts of leaves growing on the trees, just as things grow in fast movies, I had that familiar conviction that life was beginning over again with the summer. ― F. Scott FitzgeraldThe Great Gatsby

Sweet, sweet burn of sun and summer wind, and you my friend, my new fun thing, my summer fling. ― k.d. lang

I almost wish we were butterflies and liv’d but three summer days – three such days with you I could fill with more delight than fifty common years could ever contain. ― John Keats

Press close, bare-bosomed Night! 
Press close, magnetic, nourishing Night!
Night of south winds! Night of the large, few stars!
Still, nodding Night! Mad, naked, Summer Night!
― Walt WhitmanLeaves of Grass

 

Full Blog Series: The Joyful Path
Image: Bigstock

6 thoughts on “31/108: spring to summer

  1. Pingback: AM I JUST SUMMER TO YOUR HEART? | Poet's Corner

  2. Pingback: AM I JUST SUMMER TO YOUR HEART? | The Reluctant Poet

  3. Thank You so much for posting Edna St. Vincent Millay’s quote. It immediately spoke to my heart and I am indebted to You for this seed of inspiration, Dear Lady!!! Gold Stars on their way to You!
    Chuck

Leave a Reply

